Friends?


People come and go. Some stay longer, others end before they even start and a few whom I wished never lasted that long.

I live by two standards in life: Loyalty and Honesty. If you meet those two, at least towards yourself, you can enter my circle. But of course, there are sub-standards for the long-run. It’s actually just one: Can you make time for us? Even if it’s just 5 mins? If not, go away.

Let me tell you a story where I realized something a little too late.

I have only one remaining friend since childhood whom I still talked to, until today. I thought he was a true friend, a close friend. But in reality, he wasn’t. It was until a few days ago that I let the truth in.

When he comes to visit, I am the one who asks about him. I am the one who sets plans to meet. I am the one who persists for another meeting once the first, second and third fails. I am the one who initiates a friendly conversation, which doesn’t last long if it doesn’t feed his interest. He would only initiate a conversation if he wanted something. If we ever meet, pics are rarely to never taken. I shared my deepest secrets with him and he shared none, I came to realize. He also believes that make up and straightening my hair makes me look beautiful. Despite the fact that he knows me well, he still doesn’t know enough.

Why the hell was I still talking to him? I have way better, caring, understanding friends than him! Why is he still an important person in my life when I am not in his. He can’t spare 5 mins of his time to meet and talk! I should’ve never ignored the naked truth and simply let go. I wanted to share the latest highlight in my life, but I’ve been hesitant ever since. So I didn’t. He didn’t seem worth telling.

It’s a little too late now, but it’s better late than never. I’m letting go. Childhood friends … I have none! A few, very special ones remain and I look forward to adding more new special friends along the way in the future.

 

2 Comments

  1. No shame in letting them go. Hold on to the memories and share them during talks with your current buds. I think it’s super natural to have different groups of friends during different phases of life.

Leave a Reply

