30 Minutes Or More of Laughter


Three years have passed but this memory, in particular, has never left my mind. I remember this “special” day very clearly. I remember it hurt so much but felt so good at the same time. I had the best 30 minutes or more of my life with my best friend.

We were in Philosophy class in our senior year in high school and we were sitting next to each other. I remember we were so bored because we had to sit for one hour to revise the material for next week’s exam. It was a stupid assignment because it was memorizing and I knew very well that if I memorize the material now, I will forget them after the class is over. It was such a meaningless class session. So my friend got bored and decided to ask the teacher a “philosophical” question.

And something weird happens to me… A small burst of laughter gets out and the teacher shoots me an angry look so I held it in (but not for too long). After the teacher left, I let out a few giggles. My friend gave me a “what-is-wrong-with-you” look and starts giggling along.

I giggle harder and harder until bursts of laughter are released. We were both laughing so hard, tears rushing down our cheeks, our abdomen aching and our mouths exhausted from intense laughter and effort to make it stop.

We have completely lost it that we took no notice of our whereabouts and that the whole class was silent and staring at us. When we looked up, we were about to cool it off until the teacher said: “When you are done laughing, maybe you could share what was it that you were laughing at.” And then that was when we laughed the hardest; my whole body was shaking with laughter.

After 30 minutes or more, my friend tells me that we have to stop and that we pushed the line. It was hard to stop. I tried but short bursts kept coming out until I cooled down gradually.

After class, we continued what was left from our beautiful and aching moment and started wondering what we were laughing at. I started it but I had no idea why; it just came out.

My friend and I laughed for 30 minutes or more on nothing; just boredom laughter!

Leave a Reply

